Hunter Safety Course
The Louisiana Legislature enacted a mandatory education requirement for anyone born on or after September 1, 1969. All hunters born on or after this date must successfully complete the course in order to hunt in the State of Louisiana. Hunter Education provides a foundation for safe and responsible hunting.
Anyone can participate in the basic student course, but only those persons 10 years of age or older are eligible for certification. Upon successful completion of the course, students receive a Louisiana Hunter Education Certification Card that is recognized by all states and provinces that require hunter education. There is no charge to attend a standard or field day hunter education course. There is a $15.00 fee to use the on-line version of the home study course.
There are two ways to take a hunter education course:
CLASSROOM COURSE - This method requires a student to attend 10 hours of instructions provided by a certified hunter education instructor.
HOME STUDY - This method allows a student to take a hunter education course by studying the course material on the internet. To complete the process students are required to attend a FIELD DAY taught by a certified instructor.
Sheriff Woods would like to announce the upcoming Hunter Safety Field Day.
Field Day Thursday, September 10th, 2015 from 5:00 P.M. - 10:00 P.M.
*You must attend an online class prior to registering for the Field Day*
*There are a limited number of spaces available*
*Any questions can be sent to firstname.lastname@example.org